I’ll Take You On

There are rocks on every path
And cacti in fields of clovers
There’s a sliver of glass in the soft mud of the creek bed

I just want to walk barefoot
With my hands up and my heart open
I’m ready to take you on baby

You’re a tough boy, you say you won’t give in
You’re playing hard to get but baby I need you on my skin
I need you in my bed, holding me close
And if I’ve got to fight, well I’m ready

I walked through town today, lookin’ for your truck
I came back empty-handed
Feeling plum-out-of-luck

Waving my shoes in the air, I skipped on the gravel path
I knew you’d come around and this time
I’m ready to take you on baby

You’re a tough boy, you say you won’t give in
You’re playing hard to get but baby I need you on my skin
I need you in my bed, holding me close
And if I’ve got to fight, well I’m ready

I’ve got a backbone, passed down from generations
I’m made like my mama, bred gently but fiery inside
You aint seen nothing yet

I’ll grab on babe and never let go
You can run and you can hide but I’ll find you babe
I’m ready to take you on baby

You’re a tough boy, you said you wouldn’t give in
You played hard to get but now you’re here, against my skin
You’re layin in my bed, lookin at me with your big brown eyes
I fought my battle, turning to enjoy my spoils

If you ever wanna fight baby, I’m up to the challenge
I’m here to take on you, relationships and life
I won’t stop until I’ve got you forever babe
I wanna stay with you forever

Leave a Comment

