Lack of Heart

There are some days
When things just don’t fit right
Emotions off kilter
“To feel…[is] as vital as breath”
And yet, do I?
I know who I am, what I am
Where I stand
The maximum one can note
Is the least amount I could feel
For it to register within my heart

Watch one sleep
Watch one eat
There one walks across the field
She kisses her boyfriend goodbye

I long to do such things
With as much emotional investment as they
But the act is lost on me
For I care, but not to the extent that is expected of me.

“Without love, breath is just a clock. Ticking.”

One thought on “Lack of Heart

Leave a Comment

