Another Old One

Found this one tucked away in my collection. Thought I’d share.

 

*Silence* 

What you wish me to say, 
I will not tell.
What you wish to know, 
I can not speak. 
I am silenced by a bond, 
thicker than rope, 
yet invisible to everyone. 

You can’t see it, feel it, smell it, 
taste it. It’s as if it
doesn’t exist

But it does
Wrapped around my head, over my mouth.
There are holes. Holes for me to hear with.
Holes for me to see with.
I can take it all in.

But what do I do when I’m 
full?
When I can’t take it anymore?

My wrists are tied by your hands
My ankles caught around your calves
My body held down by yours, your hair
tickling my chest.
My breath is caught in my throat
You ask me why I don’t speak
I open my mouth, ready to pour it all out 

Only to have it all poured back into me
Like a flame poured into me, cool as ice
Yet burning me
Destroying any hope or ability or speaking

Now, now the cord is visible.
It has left its scars down my throat.
Now you know. 
What you wish me to say, 
I will not tell.
What you wish to know, 
I can not speak.

One thought on “Another Old One

Leave a Comment

