Routine or John Wayne?

You find once in a while
That things stop having a purpose
Suddenly, your life is a routine
Days go by in a required fashion
Every action, a mimicry of the day before
How do you renew that vigor in life?
Do you start all over?
Do you simply shake it up?
Don’t go straight to the desk but flirt with the secretary instead
Don’t get the coffee at your local coffee shop but make it at home
Wake up twenty minutes late for once, to feel that old time-enhanced pressure
Or twenty minutes early to watch the sunrise
We are lost in a society of “do’s and don’ts”
You should go to college, get a job, have your own place, date well, marry well, have a family, make money
Pay for your kids school, take care of them, be a solid parent, set aside money for them later, retire well
Leave an investment in your will, money for others
Money, money, money, money
Tell me you see a theme.

This is why society dictates our actions
To revolve around this financially motivated community
What else do you have to show?
Happiness isn’t visible all the time
But money, you can pull out the papers, you can pull out your bank account, people can see it and should be amazed
Money is what puts you where you’re aiming for in this world
Stupid money
What about the poor people? The ones scraping by?

And so the old ones die
With each passing day
The new ones enter
Claiming identity of “blessing”
Blessing’s to surely bring happiness
Until that blessing takes a 9mm to school and shoots up as many people before shooting themselves
Tell me, where did that “blessing” take a turn for the worse?
Thus, nature vs. nurture is found
Does that not bore you? It is fascinating to think about… on your own time
I’m not going to force it upon you.

Instead, I shall leave you with a smile
****************************************

john

“Save a horse, Ride a Cowboy” by: Big and Rich

Well, I walk into the room
Passing out hundred dollar bills
And it kills and it thrills like the horns on my Silverado grill
And I buy the bar a double round of crown
And everybody’s getting down
An’ this town ain’t never gonna be the same.

Cause I saddle up my horse
and I ride into the city
I make a lot of noise
Cause the girls
They are so pretty
Riding up and down Broadway
on my old stud Leroy
And the girls say
Save a horse, ride a cowboy.
Everybody says
Save a horse, Ride a cowboy

Well I don’t give a dang about nothing
I’m singing and Bling- Blanging
While the girls are drinking
Long necks down!
And I wouldn’t trade ol’ Leroy
or my Chevrolet for your Escalade
Or your freak parade
I’m the only John Wayne left in this town

And I saddle up my horse
and I ride into the city
I make a lot of noise
Cause the girls
They are so pretty
Riding up and down Broadway
on my old stud Leroy
And the girls say
Save a horse, ride a cowboy.
Everybody says
Save a horse, Ride a cowboy

I’m a thourough-bred
that’s what she said
in the back of my truck bed
As I was gettin’ buzzed on suds
Out on some back country road.
We where flying high
Fining, whine, having ourselves a big and rich time
And I was going, just about as far as she’d let me go.
But her evaluation
of my cowboy reputation
Had me begging for salvation
all night long
So I took her out giggin frogs
Introduced her to my old bird dog
And sang her every Wilie Nelson song I could think of

And we made love
And I saddled up my horse
and I ride into the city
I make a lot of noise
Cause the girls
They are so pretty
Riding up and down Broadway
on my old stud Leroy
And the girls say
Save a horse, ride a cowboy.
Everybody says
Save a horse, Ride a cowboy

What? What?
Save A Horse Ride A Cowboy
Everybody says
Save a Horse Ride a cowboy.

Leave a Comment

