Spider’s Rainbow

Strands of colors,

Wispy tendrils of blue, gray, green, yellow

The whole rainbow extends beyond my chest

Delicate strand of a spider web

Holds it close to me

Preventing departure

Connected on the other side, my soul

My heart, aching and throbbing within the cavity,

To follow those brilliant colors

Every minute of every hour

In the peripheral vision, almost forgotten

Floating back to remind me

Stuck

Why did I stick myself here?

There’s so much pleasure to be found here

So many people, so many wonderful things

To grace my knowledge, to touch my lips

Yet

There’s so much I haven’t met

There’s so much to reach out to

Those bluebonnets are just beyond my reach

They wave their leaves, almost as if saying goodbye

Don’t say goodbye

One day

One day I will be able to follow those

Strands of colors,

Wispy tendrils of blue, gray, green, yellow

The whole rainbow [that] extends beyond my chest

Leave a Comment

