Put The Smile There

I fall into my dreams
Wrapped in his arms
And I cry to know that still
I cannot do this every night

For every second I am apart,
There are fourteen thoughts of him
Flying behind my eyes
Pressing against my lips

I cannot hold a conversation
Without begging to know what he’s doing
I cannot smile without wishing
That he’d put it there

I see him and my heart is pulling at the strings
Banging against my chest
Wanting to be his everything
“Why is your heart beating so fast?”

To entwine into his life
And reserve nothing
But is it there to receive?

Will he take all of me?
Handed over without so much as a whimper
Given, graciously, with a smile
And a prayer that it’s what he needs

Leave a Comment

