Laughter

I am dancing, I am spinning
Like a teacup ride, oh
Gotta let it all go
Float to the sky, in a spinning whirlwind
Of fire and water
Hands out and a smile tears across my face
I feel the water falling from my eyes
And I can’t help but smile
At the pounding heart,
The flying freedom
Free to fly across the skies
To race past clouds and challenge the birds
To fly up top an airplane
White dress billows across my bare feet
Shoulders bare to catch the wounded
I will take you all in
I will care for you
I will share with you my epiphany
And take you for a ride in the sky
We shall sit on the clouds
We will make it rain with our toes

The sweet cherry candy
Presses against my tongue
Reminding me of child hood
Running barefoot in the grass
Tumbling, falling, and getting back up
The simplicity of those days
And now I am back
My heart feels whole
I am discovering who I am, little by little
And with each discovery,
I feel a victorious catch in my throat
Gnaw on my cheeks with the memories of yester year
Reach out to touch the tree, feel the life
Absorb the strength and sit upon it
Feel as a king, throne of the world
The tree was later a pile of dirt
My throne, an abandoned chair
My crown full of deception

But I discarded the disappointments
The negative, dragging me to the bottoms of hell
Damning my soul
I fought every evil look, every convincing pull of the hand
I am free?
I am free.
I am FREE!
I will rest where I choose to lie
I will go and float to the meadow,
Resting amongst the tall grass
Play with the black bear
Chase the elk and follow the butterfly
I will drive and drive and I won’t look back
Where will I go?
If only I knew

Someplace where the happiness spreads
Where the smiles are contagious
Where the lies are non-existent
I will rest in a wooden chair
Surrounded by trees
Dig my feet into the soft dirt
And parade the feeling
Of fresh life, of fresh air,
Of beauty and of the stars
The glorious stars
To greet me in my slumber
And shake my hand, letting me glow too
For I am who I am
I am happy
I am crazy
I am different
I am me
And sitting on a cloud, I am the only me around
I wait patiently for my friends
To kiss and to hold, to hug and to love
To banter and to comfort

To think I wanted to die,
To go to hell,
When all this was waiting for me
Promises of true happiness
I am not a patient person
But I have never been so happy as to wait for this
Enraptured in the thoughts running through my heads
Watching my fingers tear across the keyboards
Each click, one more proof of my determination
To stay here
In a sky of clouds, in whirlwinds of opposite
Carrying me heart
So I do not grow weary in my travels

Leave a Comment

