Fledgling

And in the words spilling forth
I see the shadow of my history
I see the chunks and little pieces
All mushed together to create me

And in the look in your eyes
I see the steely resolve
Reflected from my own
‘Til with hurt, we can dissolve

Put out a smile of truth
And wash away the bricks of old
Overcome, we shall
Until our hearts are filled with gold

Take my hand,
A fledgling amongst war
We can race across the minefields
Until you find your newest door

Knock once for opportunity
Twice to be ignored
Thrice to call the mockingbird
Four to abhorred

Look at me with your wide eyes
Toss up your crooked grin
Once was opportunity
But we are not yet fin

Leave a Comment

