Patient Smiles

Alone in a crowded room, but I touch your fingers
And in blinding light, you’re all I need
Perfect cerulean blue
Long sought after and finally found

~
~

I picture your eyes and master
My silent resolution
To think, that so many dreams
Were pushed forth without a second thought
Despite such a cautious behavior

In their hands, twixt fingers contain hearts
To beat when one is weakened
In the grateful smiles and silent eves,
A candle will dim, sadly and gratefully

Perhaps, perhaps I am irrationally mental
Perhaps that is the key to my sanity
And ours

~
~

I smiled today because of you
And you weren’t even here to see it
I laughed today because of you
And you weren’t even around to hear it
I dreamt of you last night
And you weren’t even here for me to wake up to

Patience should simply come
But patience is ripping muscle from bone
But all they’ll see is a smile
A patient smile
To fulfill a promise
When the time is asked of me

Leave a Comment

