Sunlit Thoughts

Speckled sunlight dances across the field
A gentle breeze sends bumps across my arms
But the sun quickly washes them away

In the gentle calm of a beautiful day,
I sit alone in the grass
All I hear is the soft twang of old country songs
Ringing in my ears
Reminding me of all that I walked away from
I want to go back to that mentality
The calm, the simplicity, the honesty

But instead, this is as close as I can get
In a field, looking down at a muddy bayou,
Filled with swirling piles of litter
The sweet sun caresses the trees
Which hide behind them a foggy, smoggy city

So I sit, listening to my songs, and day dreaming
Of where I can one day be,
Somewhere not here

Leave a Comment

