Fossilized Throne of Oak

The gentle sway of a piano once again whispers delicately upon my ears
Tantalizingly sweet, bringing forth a mindset of gentle ease

“Life is full of beauty. Notice it. Notice the bumble bee, the small child, and the smiling faces. Smell the rain, and feel the wind. Live your life to the fullest potential, and fight for your dreams.” – Ashley Smith

The breeze coasts across the fields, leaving ripples fluttering across the grass 
Leaves and stems alike bow as the earth brushes them into color
Amongst it all, I sit
Upon a chair fit for a child yet sturdy as the ancient oaks beyond the plain
The wood is smooth, worn down from years of use
Softened lines show the age and the knots within a fossilized life

My hair sweeps across my back and over my shoulders,
Dancing to a life of its own, moving with the wind and the trees
As it flies behind my ears, I hear the traces of children laughing
Out of sight, just beyond a tender hill
They live, thrilled by the simplicity of a stick and a hoop

The sun warms my skin, erasing the goose bumps from the crisp breeze
Shadows dance around me as if I sit underwater, breathing within a glass box

The urge to speak escapes me and instead, I sit still
Fingertips tracing my throne of choice
My toes curl within the cool dirt beneath

This place, I want to stay here forever
And as I tentatively retreat back to reality,
My eyes open to reveal a concrete balcony, metal railing,
A parking lot filled to the max, brimming with drunken lovebirds
Having arrived home as the bars closed down

I watch silently from my perch, the lights off,
Only the burning ember of a late night cigarette shows I am there
One couple holds hands, happily drunk together,
Returning to a bed soon to hold passionate love and a warm embrace

Others step out of cars
Hesitant, knowing smiles; a one-night stand
The man thinks only of what joys he will feel whilst the woman studies to know what he likes, hoping for a callback

Dissatisfied, I close my eyes
Go back to a breezy, summer afternoon
An ocean of grass and child’s priorities
Happy

Leave a Comment

